Skip to main content

Academics

Department of Behavioral Sciences

The department includes Criminal Justice, Psychology, Sociology, and Child Development.
Behavioral Sciences is an intersection of the study of the individual and the study of society. It represents an exploration and understanding of the effects of human actions and relationships between individuals in the family, workplace, and society. The mission of the Department  is to provide students with the opportunity to use the major concepts, theoretical perspectives, empirical findings, and historical trends in their major to promote intellectual development and spiritual growth. Students apply basic research methods, including research design, data analysis, and interpretation; respect and use critical and creative thinking, skeptical inquiry, and the scientific approach to solve problems related to behavior and social processes.

Contact Information

Dr. Laurie Smith
Chair, Department of Behavioral Sciences
Professor of Sociology
903.923.2090  |  lsmith@etbu.edu 

Dr. Allen Appiah-Boateng
Program Director, Masters of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Assistant Professor of Counseling Education
903.923.2318  |  aapiahboateng@etbu.edu

Dr. David Deel
Assistant Professor of Psychology
903.923.2252  |  ddeel@etbu.edu

Natalie Hale
Assistant Professor of Counseling Education
903.923.2088  |  nhale@etbu.edu 

Dr. Erik Hillman
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
903.923.2094  |  ehillman@etbu.edu 

Dr. Mark Miller
Professor of Sociology 
903.923.2092  |  mmiller@etbu.edu

Dr. Jennifer Mobley
Assistant Professor of Psychology
903.923.2095  |  jmobley@etbu.edu

Dr. Tom Tiefenwerth
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
903.923.2251  |  ttiefenwerth@etbu.edu 

Julie Warbington
Administrative Secretary, Department of Behavioral Sciences
903-923-2093  |  jwarbington@etbu.edu