Skip to main content

Academics

Department of Languages and Literature

The Division of English seeks to develop the language skills and knowledge of literature expected of all liberally-educated students and prepare English majors and minors for graduate study, positions in the elementary and secondary schools, or other careers in the private and public sectors. With a Bachelor of Arts in English, students may choose a General Track, Writing Track, or Literature Track. The English Department sponsors an active chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. Through this organization, students have the opportunity to publish their creative work and critical essays in the Sigma Tau Delta journals, The Sigma Tau Delta Review and The Rectangle. Sigma Tau Delta also sponsors the annual Era Miller Writing Contest for students, and their winning stories, poems, and essays are published in The Beacon. Students’ winning stories, poems, and essays from the annual Era Miller Writing Contest are published in The Beacon, ETBU’s journal in the Humanities, which is housed in the English department.

Contact Information

Dr. David Splawn
Chair, Department of Languages and Literature
Associate Professor, English
903.923.2286  |  dsplawn@etbu.edu

José Alonzo
Assistant Professor, Spanish
903.923.2268  |  jalonzo@etbu.edu

Dr. Zachary Beck
Director of the Honors Program
Assistant Professor, English
903.923.2267  |  zbeck@etbu.edu

Dr. Amy Carpenter
Assistant Professor, English
903.923.2282  |  acarpenter@etbu.edu

Dr. Ellis Purdie
Assistant Professor, English
903.923.2285  |  epurdie@etbu.edu

Dr. Jeanna White
Director of Writing
Professor, English
903.923.2283  |  jwhite@etbu.edu

Dr. Troy White
Assistant Professor, English
903.923.2287  |  twhite@etbu.edu