Skip to main content

Academics

Department of Languages and Literature

The Division of English seeks to:

  • Develop the language skills and knowledge of literature expected of all liberally-educated students
  • Prepare English majors and minors for graduate study, positions in the elementary and secondary schools, or other careers in the private and public sectors.

We offer three programs of study:

  • A major or minor in English
  • An English major or minor for secondary level certification
  • A 4-8th grade English Reading and Language Arts certification in conjunction with the Early Childhood through 6th grade BSE.

Courses offered include:

  • Freshman composition courses taught in state-of-the-art computer classrooms
  • Sophomore surveys of American, British, and World Literature
  • A variety of junior and senior-level electives in Literature and Language
  • Special Topics courses in Literary Genres, Periods, Themes, and Authors
  • Honors Research Opportunities
  • Shakespeare
  • Linguistics
  • Advanced Composition
  • Advanced Technical Communication
  • Creative Writing
  • Adolescent Literature
  • Cinema Studies
  • Ancient World Literature
  • Medieval and Renaissance Literature
  • African-American Literature
Contact Information

Dr. David Splawn
Chair of the Languages & Literature Department
Associate Professor, English
903.923.2286 | dsplawn@etbu.edu

José Alonzo
Assistant Professor, Spanish
jalonzo@etbu.edu

Dr. Zachary Beck
Director of the Honors Program
Assistant Professor, English
zbeck@etbu.edu

Dr. Amy Carpenter
Assistant Professor, English
acarpenter@etbu.edu

Dr. Ellis Purdie
Assistant Professor, English
epurdie@etbu.edu

Dr. Jeanna White
Director of Writing
Professor, English
jwhite@etbu.edu

Dr. Troy White
Assistant Professor, English
twhite@etbu.edu

Kyle Ambrose
Adjunct Instructor, English
kambrose@etbu.edu

Jemima Deutsch
Adjunct Instructor, English
jdeutsch@etbu.edu

Ashley Johnson
Adjunct Instructor, English
ajohnson@etbu.edu

Dr. Bill Lancaster
Adjunct Instructor, English
blancaster@etbu.edu

Amanda Ware
Adjunct Instructor, English
aware@etbu.edu