Skip to main content

Academics

Department of Music

The Department of Music provides a diverse program of training in music that reflects historical traditions of music, music education, and music ministry leadership. It seeks to broaden each student's knowledge of musical practice and to challenge all students to develop and utilize their artistic talents in both secular and sacred contexts in ways consistent with their Christian worldview. Further, the Department of Music prepares students for opportunities to study music at the graduate level in varying areas of specialization and for professional success in vocations in the field and its related fields.

In the Department of Music you will perform in a variety of ensemble types, expand your knowledge of music, and develop skills in many aspects of the discipline including performance, technology, education, worship leadership, theory, and history. You will experience a challenging environment led by a passionate and caring faculty who are committed to your personal, professional, and spiritual growth. You may choose one of our specific music major programs: Music (BA degree), Music Education (BM degree), or Worship Studies (BM degree). If you major in another discipline you may choose a minor in music or worship arts, which includes courses in music, religion, media production, theatre, and speech communication.

Contact Information

Dr. Candice Aipperspach
Assistant Professor of Music
Coordinator of Vocal Activities
903.923.2165  |  caipperspach@etbu.edu

Cammy Burkhalter
Assistant Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music Education
903.923.2155  |  cburkhalter@etbu.edu

Mark Crim
Director of Bands
Assistant Professor of Music
903.923.2168  |  mcrim@etbu.edu

Cathy DeRousse
Staff Accompanist  |  University Organist
Director of the Bennett Technology Lab
Adjunct Instructor of Music
903.923.2166  |  cderousse@etbu.edu

Dr. Justin Hodges
Director of Choral Activities
Associate Professor of Music
903.923.2162  |  jhodges@etbu.edu

Dr. Douglas Lockard
Professor of Music
Coordinator of Instrumental Activities
903.923.2167  |  dlockard@etbu.edu

Chris Smith
Assistant Professor of Music
Coordinator of Worship Studies 
903.923.2163  |  csmith@etbu.edu

Dr. Thomas Webster
Dean of the School of Communication and Performing Arts
Professor of Music
903.923.2157  |  twebster@etbu.edu

Pam Purvis
Administrative Secretary, School of Communication and Performing Arts
903.923.2158  |  ppurvis@etbu.edu