Skip to main content


The Sam B. Hall Jr. Professorship and Lecture Series

Sam B. Hall, Jr. (1924-1994)

Born in Marshall, Texas, Sam B. Hall Jr. was a U. S. Representative for the Texas 1st Congressional District (1976-1985), and a Texas Eastern District federal judge (1985-1994). A World War II army veteran, lawyer, civic servant, member and deacon of a Church of Christ congregation, and a graduate of the College of Marshall (now ETBU) and Baylor University law school, Hall was a conservative Democrat, a champion of members of the U. S. military and veterans, and an enthusiastic patriot. His biography, Sam B. Hall Jr.: Whatever is Right, was published in 2005.

The Professorship and Lectureship

The Hall Professorship and Lecture Series was established at East Texas Baptist University in 1993 by the family, friends and Judge Hall’s colleagues in the bar, the U. S. Congress, and the federal judiciary. Dr. Jerry L. Summers was named the Hall Professor of History. In 1993 Judge Hall delivered the first lecture in the annual lecture series.

  • Sam B. Hall, Jr. (1993) United States District Judge for the Texas Eastern District.
  • Dr. Jerry L. Summers (1994) The Sam B. Hall Jr. Professor of History, ETBU.
  • Mr. Joe R. Lovelace (1995) retired attorney, fellow College of Marshall graduate, lifelong friend to Judge Hall, from Linden, Texas.
  • Dr. Ronald A. Wells (1996) Professor of History, and Director of the Calvin Center for Christian Scholarship, Calvin College, Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Judge William J. Cornelius (1997) Chief Justice, Court of Civil Appeals, Sixth Supreme Judicial District of Texas. Jefferson, Texas.
  • The Rev. Dr. Inez D. Jenkins (1998) retired Professor Emerita in Religion and Philosophy, Wiley College, Marshall, Texas.
  • Mr. D. Glenn Elliott (1999) Texas Ranger, Retired. Longview, Texas.
  • Mr. Chase Palmer (2000) Marshall attorney and grandson of Judge Hall. Marshall, Texas.
  • Mr. Don Adams (2001) attorney and trustee of East Texas Baptist University, a former Texas State representative and senator. Austin, Texas.
  • Mr. Ed Hohn (2002) attorney and former judicial law clerk with Judge Hall, Daingerfield, Texas.
  • Mr. Bryan Hughes (2003) Texas District 5 State Representative.
  • Dr. Don Newbury (2004) President and Chancellor, Howard Payne University, Retired.
  • Dr. Brad J. Toben (2005) Dean, Baylor School of Law.
  • Dr. Jerry L. Summers (2006) The Sam B. Hall Jr. Professor of History, ETBU
  • Mr. Richard Anderson (2007) Marshall attorney, former Texas State senator, and Harrison County Judge.
  • Dr. J. David Holcomb,(2010) Associate Professor of History and Political Science, Director of Special Academic Programs, Associate Director, UMHB Center for Religious Liberty, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, Belton, Texas.
  • Judge Kenneth Winston Starr (2011) President, Baylor University.
  • Dr. Bradley J. Creed (2012) Provost, Executive Vice-President, and Professor of Religion, Samford University.
  • Dr. Ronald A. Wells (2013) Professor Emeritus, Calvin College, Grand Rapids, Michigan; Director, The Maryville Symposium on Faith and Learning, Maryville College, Tennessee.
  • Coach Gene Stallings (2014) Multiple Hall of Fame member; former head football coach, Texas A&M, University of Alabama, the Washington Redskins, and defensive assistant, the Dallas Cowboys; author and speaker, retired; from Paris, Texas.
  • Phillip Meyer (2015) Vice President of Sales- Oilfield Precision Products and ETBU trustee; from Houston, Texas
  • Michael C. Smith (2016) Attorney, Marshall, Texas, and former judicial law clerk for Judge Hall.
  • Dr. Jerry L. Summers (2017) The Sam B. Hall Jr. Professor of History, and Dean, School of Humanities, ETBU.
  • The Hon. Kent R. Hance (2018) Chancellor, Texas Tech University; Texas Railroad Commissioner; United States Congressman--Texas District 19; Texas State Senator--District 28

The Sam B. Hall Jr. Civic Service Award

Since 2010 the university has presented the Hall Civic Service Award to a person or persons in recognition of their exemplary service and contributions to civic and community life.

Award Recipients: 
2010 - Madeleine Segal Hall, 1924-2009 
2011 - Ray and Mona Lawson, Marshall, Texas 
2012 - Sue Jordan, Plano, Texas 
2013 - Frank and Bonnie Strauss, Marshall, Texas
2014 - Sam R. Moseley, Marshall, Texas
2015 - Glenn Bickerdike, Marshall, Texas
2016 - Michael C. Smith, Marshall, Texas
2017 - Jean Birmingham, Marshall, Texas  
2018 - Steve and Penny Carlile, Marshall, Texas
The endowed professorship and lectureship reflect the generosity of those who loved and appreciated Judge Hall, his love for the College of Marshall and East Texas Baptist University, and his love for history.

Would you like to contribute to the endowment? If so, please contact the Office of University Advancement at 903.923.2071 or email

History Sam B Hall