Skip to main content

Academics

School of Christian Studies

As a fully integrated part of East Texas Baptist University, the School of Christian Studies maintains a clear identification with and loyalty to the Christian faith and functions within the context of historic Baptist values and principles. As part of the historic and long-standing service to the foundational liberal arts curriculum of East Texas Baptist University, the faculty seeks to lead students to a mature understanding of the Bible and the development of a Christian worldview. Through teaching, mentoring, and advising, students will be given the opportunity to gain a basic knowledge of God’s word, to reflect upon its theology, and to apply it personally and professionally.

Contact Information

John L. Harris, Ph.D.
Dean of the School of Christian Studies
Professor of Old Testament and Hebrew
903.923.2180  |  jharris@etbu.edu

Jeremy Greer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Religion
903.923.2186  |  jgreer@etbu.edu

Jeph Holloway, Ph.D. 
Professor of Theology, Philosophy, and Christian Ethics
903.923.2185  |  jholloway@etbu.edu

R. Warren Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor of New Testament and Greek
903.923.2182  |  wjohnson@etbu.edu

Thomas Sanders, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Associate Professor of Church Education
903.923.2075  |  tsanders@etbu.edu 

Emily Prevost, Ph.D.
Assistant Provost
Assistant Professor of Leadership and Religion
903.923.2074  |  eprevost@etbu.edu

Lisa Seeley, Ph.D.
Director of Global Education and The Great Commission Center
Assistant Professor of Religion
903.923.2175  |  lseeley@etbu.edu