Skip to main content

News - 2021


October 6, 2021

ETBU Theatre opens season with "Pinocchio Commedia"

The East Texas Baptist University Department of Theatre Arts concluded its production of Johnny Simon’s Pinocchio Commedia last weekend after a successful four-show run from Thursday, September 30 to Sunday, October 3. The performances, directed by Associate Professor of Theatre Arts John Dement, blended the rich comic style of Italian comic theatre with the fairy tale exploits of everyone’s favorite puppet-brought-to-life, Pinocchio.

Learning and Leading Fall Festival

October 5, 2021

ETBU serves Marshall Community through fall festivals

East Texas Baptist University’s Learning and Leading classes hosted Fall Festivals for five of Marshall ISD’s elementary schools, including David Crockett Elementary, Sam Houston Elementary, William B. Travis Elementary, Price T. Young Elementary, and Marshall Early Childhood Center School on Monday, October 4 to serve elementary students and their families.

Two ETBU seniors recognized for Christian servant leadership

October 4, 2021

Two ETBU seniors recognized for Christian servant leadership

East Texas Baptist University junior Leah Akridge from Lufkin, Texas, and senior Christian Phillips from Murphy, Texas, were honored on October 4 with the Bob and Gayle Riley Servant Leadership Award for consistently displaying Christian servant leadership on campus and in the community. ETBU President Emeritus Dr. Bob Riley and his wife, Gayle, took part in the ceremony and presented the honorees with a miniature replication of the “Divine Servant” statue, created by Max Greiner, which can also be found on campus at the entrance to the Rogers Spiritual Life Center.

Polly Cargill Nursing Scholarship blesses ETBU nursing students

September 29, 2021

Polly Cargill Nursing Scholarship blesses ETBU nursing students

Several East Texas Baptist University nursing students were recently presented with the Polly Cargill Nursing Scholarship on behalf of the Cargill family and East Texas Baptist University. ETBU’s Denesha Bluford, Diana Garcia, Camryn Johnson, Cameron Kaufert, Victoria Miles, Marissa Morgan, Katie Muldowney, Brittan Price, Cameron Schmitz, Katelynn Smith, and Laura Staley received the scholarship during the reception held at the Marshall Grand.