Skip to main content

ETBU School of Humanities Holds 2014-2015 Honors Ceremony

May 12, 2015

MARSHALL, Texas (5/12/15) - The School of Humanities at East Texas Baptist University honored its outstanding students during its Honors Chapel ceremony on Wednesday, April 29, 2015. Students from the Department of Communication, Languages and Literature, and History and Political Science were recognized for their achievement during the 2014-2015 Academic Year.

The award and honorees are as follows:

Languages and Literature Awards
Haylie Amison    Outstanding Student in English         Mount Pleasant, Texas
Ashley Johnson   Outstanding French Student           Troup, Texas
Na "Vera" Zeng    Outstanding First Year Spanish Student International Student
Anna Alonzo        Outstanding Spanish Major            Marshall, Texas
Ashley Johnson  Thomas and Mary Cook Endowed Scholarship   Troup, Texas
Anne Warke   Albert F. & Sophronia Winham Ramsey Memorial Literary Scholarship        White Oak, Texas
Kristin Williams     Dr. Lois Phillip Ware English Scholarship Whitehouse, Texas

Era Miller Writing Contest Awards
Poetry Division
First            Randall Hilgendorf                       Ronoake, Texas
Second        Anne Warke                               White Oak, Texas
Third            Holly Fountain                            Hallsville, Texas
Third            Daniel Vaughn                            Baytown, Texas

Prose Division        
First            Haylie Amison                            Mount Pleasant, Texas
Second        Kristin Williams                         Whitehouse, Texas
Third            Ashley Johnson                         Troup, Texas
Third            Anne Warke                               White Oak, Texas
Initiates into Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Socieity, Beta Mu Chapter
Ashley Johnson                                        Troup, Texas
Shelby Strickland                                      Greenville, Texas

History. Political Science and International Studies Awards
Isaac McTaggart    Outstanding History Research and Writing  Fort Worth, Texas
Caroline Donica        History Leadership Award                Longview, Texas
Aiden Gonzales        Political Science Leadership Award          Bangkok    
Erika Wood               History Promise Award                        Willis, Texas
Kelly Ayn Murphy    History Promise Award                         Twin Lakes, Texas
Sara Corley                Political Promise Award                        Carthage, Texas
Gavin McAdam        Bellew/Walton History Scholarship           Henderson, Texas
Abby Weaver        International Studies Promise Award                Dallas, Texas
Michael Henson        International Studies Leadership Award                Atlanta, Texas

Model United Nations Participants
Jessica Burrell                                    Spurger, Texas
Sara Corley                                        Carthage, Texas
Gavin McAdam                                   Henderson, Texas
Nitya Tej Nandamudi                           Marshall, Texas
Morgan Norwood                                Texarkana, Texas
Jessika Obey                                      Fresno, Texas
James Walker                                     Carthage, Texas
Michael Wooddell                               White Oak, Texas
Daniel Work                                        Kingwood, Texas

Department of Communication Awards
Rylie Grimes        Dorothy Nell Rogers Endowed Scholarship                Lumberton, Texas
Katelynn "Ro" Burns  Dorothy Page Poole Speech Scholarship  Pittsburg, Texas
Shayne Davis        Outstanding Debate Team Member         Marshall, Texas
Amanda Gill        Outstanding Speech Communication Student    Austin, Texas
Kenny Adcock        Outstanding Speech Education Student      Cleburne, Texas
Cody Pruitt        Outstanding Mass Communication Student    Huffman, Texas
Cody Pruitt        Outstanding Student Journalist        Huffman, Texas
Katelyn "Ro" Burns    Outstanding Yearbook Editor         Pittsburg, Texas    
Layth Taylor        Outstanding Student Photographer            Longview, Texas
Charles Quigley        Outstanding Radio Announcer           Houston, Texas
Justin Winfrey        Outstanding Video Photographer           Garland, Texas
Reece McConnell      Most Improved Mass Communication Student   Sherman, Texas    

Debate Team Members
Kenny Adcock                                       Cleburne, Texas
Kennedy Bishop                                   Grapeland, Texas
Austin Brown                                         Fort Worth, Texas
Katelynn "Ro" Burns,                            Pittsburg, Texas
Shayne Davis                                        Marshall, Texas    
Rachel Ferguson                                   Pineland, Texas
Gavin McAdam                                      Henderson, Texas
Madysen Neathery                                Wake Village, Texaas
Charles Quigley                                     Houston, Texas