Skip to main content

CSWA Honors Maddox as Honda D3 Athlete of the Year

June 14, 2024

Tristen Maddox, the standout shortstop from East Texas Baptist University's Softball team, has etched her name in NCAA Division III history. She has been honored as the NCAA Division III Athlete of the Year, a prestigious accolade announced today by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) and Honda. Maddox's achievement marks a significant milestone, as she becomes the fifth softball player to earn this recognition in the 35-year history of the award. She is also the second American Southwest Conference (ASC) player to do so, following Hardin-Simmons University's Ashley Huston (track & field) in 2009.

"It is such an honor and a blessing to receive this award," said Maddox. "I would not have been able to do this without my teammates and coaches pushing me to do better and my friends and family who have continued supporting me in everything I do. I am very thankful to be part of such a loving community and to be able to make my friends and family proud. I am so thankful that God put me on the path to meet the people who have helped me grow in my athletic journey and as a person."

The award will be presented to Maddox on Monday, June 24, at 6:00 p.m. Central Time at the CBS Sports Studio in New York City and can be watched live on the CBS Sports Network. The ceremony, presented by CWSA and Honda, can be streamed online or watched on the CBS Sports Network on YouTube TV, Fubo TV, HULU Live, and through the CBS Sports app.

Maddox, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Player of the Year, helped ETBU to the 2024 National Championship at Bell Park at Taylor Field. She recorded eight RBI and two home runs, batting .333 with two home runs, and was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament. ETBU won two elimination games on the final day of the Championship over Belhaven University, 8-2 and 9-5, for the program's second NCAA Division III National Championship.

"What an honor it is for Tristen to receive the DIII Honda Athlete of the Year award," head coach Janae Shirley stated. "The impact that she has made on our program both as an athlete and a leader has been tremendous. She truly is the definition of a coach's dream - she works hard, competes, is humble, kind, an amazing leader, and an incredible athlete. We are so proud of her and the woman she is."

A three-time NFCA All-American and two-time ASC Player of the Year, Maddox's performance this year was nothing short of exceptional. She finished the season with a batting average of .437, amassing 69 hits, 16 doubles, 63 RBI, and a record-breaking 17 home runs, the most in a single season for ETBU. Her outstanding performance earned her the ASC Tournament MVP title and a spot in the NCAA Division III Marshall, Texas All-Regional Tournament team. The four-time All-ASC first-team player was also a three-time recipient of the ASC Hitter of the Week award.

ETBU won a program-best 48 games, going 10-1 in the NCAA Tournament, claiming the 2024 National Championship. The NCAA Division III National Championship won by ETBU was a historic moment, as it was the first modern-day championship won by the host team. The ETBU's dominance was evident in their 28-1 record at Bell Park and Taylor Field in 2024, including a perfect 15-0 regular season. They also set a new program record with 48 wins and a remarkable 23-game winning streak, solidifying their status as a force to be reckoned with in the NCAA Division III softball.

The CWSA, entering its 48th year, has honored the nation's top NCAA women athletes for their superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence, and eagerness to participate in community service.  Since commencing its partnership in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.4 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women's athletics programs. 


HONDA NCAA Division III Athlete of the Year: 2024
NCAA Division III National Championship Tournament MOP: 2024
NCAA Division III Marshall, Texas Regional All-Tournament Team: 2024
NFCA Player of the Year: 2024
NFCA All-American First Team: 2023, 2024
NFCA All-American Second Team: 2022
NFCA All-Region First Team: 2023, 2024
NFCA All-Region Second Team: 2022
NFCA Watch List: 2023, 2024
NFCA Top 50 Players: 2023
NFCA Gold Glove: 2023
ASC Female Athlete of the Year: 2023
ASC Tournament Most Outstanding Player: 2024
ASC All-Tournament: 2024
ASC Player of the Year: 2023, 2024
All-ASC First Team: 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024
ASC Hitter of the Week: 5 times