Skip to main content

ETBU Hosts Third Induction of Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society

February 27, 2023

East Texas Baptist University inducted 71 students into the prestigious Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society (ALD) during a ceremony at ETBU’s Chapel on the Hill on Tuesday, February 21. A national honor society, ALD distinguishes first-year academic success with invitations to join extended only to students who obtain a 3.5 GPA or higher during the first semester of their freshman year.

Among those in attendance for the ceremony were ALD Advisor, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Thomas Sanders, ALD Advisor and Student Success Specialist Vanessa Johnston, ALD President Josue Lopez Rivas, ALD Vice President Hannah Kelley, ALD Secretary Toni Tamborello, and ALD Treasurer Mary Ellis.

The University has inducted 202 members since the installation of the ETBU chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta in March 2021.

“Conventional wisdom and research show that when students start strong in their first semester and year, they are more likely to finish and finish strong,” said Provost Sanders. “ALD celebrates the strong start of our freshmen students.”

ALD holds over 280 chapters nationwide, with over one million students initiated. ALD members enjoy the benefits of joining a community of scholars committed to academic excellence, receiving scholarships with $211,000 awarded each year from ALD headquarters, the opportunity to give back to the community through service projects and volunteerism, and the chance to build on strengths and develop effective communication and leadership skills.

“It’s been amazing to serve alongside my peers in ALD and experience firsthand the joy that serving others brings,” said Hannah Kelley. “It has been so encouraging to surround myself with people who are just as driven and passionate about learning as I am. In addition, ALD has allowed me to grow in my ability to speak publicly about my love for the Lord and surround myself with students with similar passions.”

East Texas Baptist inducted the following students into the Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society:

Timothy Anderson

Madelyn Best

Skylar Bussing

Kaitlyn Causey

Madison Chandler

Baylie Colston

Cheyenne Conway

Shyan Darr

Annika Demuth

Phoebe Dunham

Levi Endris

Hunter Foster

Mallory Golden

Moriah Golden

Sydney Green

Gianna Hernandez

Logan Herren

Isabelle Hodge

Katie Hogg

Connor Jones

Brooke Kelley

Salina Kilmer

Viktoriia Kozachok

Kristin Kruger

Jessica Kuhlmann

Julia Lamb

Mackenzie Lawrence

Abigail Lee

Jeremy Lejeune

Madelene Lewis

Aaron Lovelady

Abigail Lucas

Ruby Luce

Mckenzie Manning

Daniel Martin

Melissa Martinez-Chavez

Caylee Mayfield

Katie Melton

Madyson Melton

Kaitlyn Moore

Nathaniel Morris

Graycee Mosley

Samantha Nguyen

Anna Olavarrieta

Emma Overla

Jolie Parker

Taylor Poore

Faith Pratt

Alexis Purcell

Antonia Redfern

Madison Reid

Nikolas Roudkovski

Angela Sanchez

Neelie Schiel

McKenzie Schroer

Maryam Sharafeldin

Apollo Sharpe

Bailey Smith

Chelsea Stiles

Gracyn Stroman

Neiman Sullen

Shelby Tennant

Drew Van Wyk

Sofia Vovk

Edward Washington

Lilli Wehmeyer

Dylan Welch

Nixon Whitaker

Darby Woodrum

Hannah Wrinkle

Eliana Zepeda