Skip to main content

ETBU Hosts Fourth Induction of Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society

March 21, 2024

East Texas Baptist University inducted 67 students into the prestigious Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society (ALD) during a ceremony at ETBU’s Great Commission Center on Thursday, March 21. A national honor society, ALD distinguishes first-year academic success with invitations to join extended only to students who obtain a 3.5 GPA or higher during the first semester of their freshman year.

Among those in attendance for the ceremony were ALD Advisor, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Thomas Sanders, ALD Advisor and Student Success Specialist Vanessa Johnston, ALD President Salina Kilmer, ALD Vice President Graham Parmelee, and ALD Treasurer Neelie Schiel.

The University has inducted 269 members since the installation of the ETBU chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta in March 2021.

“Research shows us that academic performance and success during a student’s first year are correlated with future academic performance and success, meaning a student who starts their collegiate career strong is more likely to finish strong,” Johnston said. “We want to commend and acknowledge these students for their efforts, and an invitation to join Alpha Lambda Delta, a nationally certified honor society, is a great way to do that. We hope this recognition will encourage them to continue pursuing academic excellence.”

ALD holds over 280 chapters nationwide, with over one million students initiated. ALD members enjoy the benefits of joining a community of scholars committed to academic excellence, receiving scholarships with $211,000 awarded each year from ALD headquarters, the opportunity to give back to the community through service projects and volunteerism, and the chance to build on strengths and develop effective communication and leadership skills.

“Being president has allowed me to focus on serving my peers and my college community” ETBU ALD President Salina Kilmer said. “This honor society has helped me connect with other students who I might not have otherwise, pushed me to grow as a student myself, and strengthened my leadership abilities.”

East Texas Baptist inducted the following students into the Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society:

Alexis Abart
Nickolas Anderson
Hannah Ayala
Georgia Baker
Jonah Brink
Andre Brown
Morgan Butler
Diana Canenquez
Pedro Cavazos
Katherine Christian
Logan Clark
Jessie Dibble
Madison Dotson
Mackenzie Fritsche
Ashlynn Galvin
Sage Gladding
Mackenzie Goode
Grace Green
Carson Greenwood
Justin Hayes
Peyton Hodge
Joshua Hurd
Kaitlyn Huzy
Davis Jackson
Emma Jamerson
Halee Johnson
Holly Jones
Jessica Key
Carson Kondos
Elijah Lehmann
Makenna Lockhart
Kourtney Longenecker
Madeline Lozano
Travis Mason
Sawyer Matchett
Trenton Matlack
Amber McCarthy
Bryson Meeks
Makayla Menchue
Corrina Mendoza
Izabella Morales
London Morris
Ava Nieto
Ashlyn Nunnally
Macey Pool
Madison Queen
Addison Ratledge
Kaylan Rhodes
Audrey Salley
Faith Sechrist
Molly Segrest
Lani Sherman
Brooke Silvertooth
Laura Simpson
Adrianna Stark
Annsleigh Stewart
Lillien Stowe
Haylie Stum
Emilie Taylor
Carolina Valencia
Cheyenne Vick
Tyler West
Abigayle Whatley
Cadee Whitmire
Amy Williams
Daryn Wilmore
Caleb Wilson