Skip to main content

Academics

Department of Religion

"Christian Scholarship in a Community of Faith"

The mission of the Department of Religion is to equip students with the ability to articulate a general knowledge of the contents of the Bible and to provide ministry students with the information and skills necessary for them to excel academically, vocationally, and professionally.

Specifically, ETBU ministry students:

  • are welcomed into a community of learning, rigorous scholarship, academic freedom, and service.
  • receive individual mentoring, advising, and counseling from a religion professor.
  • have the opportunity to participate in a wide variety of ministry opportunities, including but not limited to, local church ministry.
  • may have multicultural experiences through travel courses. Recent trips include Greece, Turkey, Italy and Ethiopia.
  • can receive financial assistance, if eligible, through the BGCT Ministry Scholarship.
Contact Information

John L. Harris, Ph.D.
Dean of the School of Christian Studies
Professor of Old Testament and Hebrew
903.923.2180  |  jharris@etbu.edu

Jeremy Greer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Religion
903.923.2186  |  jgreer@etbu.edu

Jeph Holloway, Ph.D. 
Professor of Theology, Philosophy, and Christian Ethics
903.923.2185  |  jholloway@etbu.edu

R. Warren Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor of New Testament and Greek
903.923.2182  |  wjohnson@etbu.edu

Norman Blackaby, Ph.D.
Professor of Religion
903.923.2183  |  nblackaby@etbu.edu

Thomas Sanders, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Associate Professor of Church Education
903.923.2075  |  tsanders@etbu.edu 

Emily Prevost, Ph.D.
Assistant Provost
Assistant Professor of Leadership and Religion
903.923.2074  |  eprevost@etbu.edu

Lisa Seeley, Ph.D.
Director of Global Education and The Great Commission Center
Assistant Professor of Religion
903.923.2175  |  lseeley@etbu.edu